Picture: GeeBee Images

Honda Racing presented its full 2022 global motorsport campaign this morning confirming its representation across MotoGP, WorldSBK and EWC.

Marc Marquez and Pol Espargaro continue to spearhead the campaign for the Repsol Honda Team in MotoGP alongside LCR’s Castrol rider Alex Marquez and Idemitzu sponsored Takaaki Nakagami.

In WorldSBK, Iker Lecuona and Xavi Vierge will make their debuts in the production class as part of the factory HRC team aboard the CBR1000RR-R Fireblade SP while Leandro ‘Tati’ Mercado and Hafizh Syahrin will line up for MIE Racing Honda.

Honda’s rider development programme sees Ai Ogura return to HondaTeam Asia in Moto2 alongside Somkiat Chantra while Mario Aji and Taiyo Furusato begin their full time world championship careers in Moto3.

The endurance mantle is taken up by Josh Hook, Mike de Meglio and Britain’s Gino Rea as part of the F.C.C. TSR Honda France squad while the Bennetts British Superbike Championship sees Glenn Irwin head a four rider team with Roy Mizuno, Takumi Takahashi and National Superstock Champion Tom Neave.

“As Honda riders we hope for a better year in 2022,” Marquez said on the year ahead.

“2021 was a tough year coming back from my arm injury. Was difficult, some up and downs but we achieved four important podiums and three victories. Unfortunately we didn’t finish the season in a good way but I’m feeling better. Step by step looks like the time to come back to ride the bike is closer but we need to be patient as it’s a slow process. I’m motivated for 2022 and I wish the best to all Honda riders.”