Aron Canet is a Moto2 race winner at long last after making the most of Alonso Lopez’s crash from the lead at Portimao to secure victory in the Portuguese Moto2.

The Fantic Racing rider was in the right place at the right time when Lopez – chasing a second consecutive win after his success in Qatar earlier in the month – dropped his Speed Up Boscoscuro at Turn 10 with eleven laps to go.

His exit allowed Canet, himself a comfortable margin up on the opposition, to inherit a lead he’d protect to the chequered flag in his 70th Moto2 start and coming after a run of 20 podiums without ever stepping atop it.


Also a first win as part of the Fantic Racing team, it was a redemptive result for the Spaniard after seeing victory slip through his hands in Qatar due to tyre problems.

It also moved him to the summit of the overall standings amid slim pickings in the first European race of the 2024 Moto2 season for many of the riders who shone under the floodlights in Qatar.

Most significant of these was Lopez, who after his tussle with Speed Up Racing team-mate Fermin Aldeguer during the early laps was decided in the former’s favour when the future Ducati MotoGP rider was handed a double long lap penalty for a jump-start, proceeded to ease beyond Canet’s reach.

However, his afternoon would end abruptly with a slide off at Turn 10 at the half-way stage in the race, giving Canet his passage through to victory.

Joining him on the podium was Joe Roberts, who went some way to reprising his surprise win for Italtrans at Portimao in the wake of a huge pile-up ahead following a sudden shower.

It also ensured a first podium of the season for American Racing, with the rostrum being completed by QJMotor Gresini’s pole sitter Manuel Gonzalez.

Despite his penalty, Aldeguer produced a standout performance to pick his way up the order from a low of 12th, the Speed Up Racing rider just over a second shy of getting onto the podium, but getting good points on the board after his failure to score in Lusail.

He led a trio of Boscoscuro-equipped riders as Ai Ogura and Sergio Garcia consolidated both theirs and MT Helmets-MSI’s encouraging start to the year in fifth and sixth respectively, followed closely by Celestino Vietti – who was also forced to take a long lap penalty – Albert Arenas, Marcos Ramirez and Somkiat Chantra.

🇵🇹🏁 2024 Portuguese Moto2, Portimao | RACE Results

Sunday | Conditions – Dry
🇵🇹 🏁 2024 Portuguese Moto2 Results | Portimao, Portugal | RACE Results | Round 2 of 21
Pos. Rider Nat. Team Chassis Gap
1 Aron Canet 🇪🇦 Fantic Racing Kalex 21 Laps
2 Joe Roberts 🇺🇲 OnlyFans American Racing Team Kalex +2.059
3 Manuel Gonzalez 🇪🇦 QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2 Team Kalex +2.610
4 Fermin Aldeguer 🇪🇦 Beta SpeedUp Boscoscuro +3.212
5 Ai Ogura 🇯🇵 MT Helmets – MSI Boscoscuro +3.728
6 Sergio Garcia 🇪🇦 MT Helmets – MSI Boscoscuro +6.716
7 Celestino Vietti 🇮🇹 Red Bull KTM Ajo Kalex +7.288
8 Albert Arenas 🇪🇦 QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2 Team Kalex +7.663
9 Marcos Ramirez 🇪🇦 OnlyFans American Racing Team Kalex +7.758
10 Somkiat Chantra 🇹🇭 Idemitsu Honda Team Asia Kalex +8.728
11 Jeremy Alcoba 🇫🇷 Yamaha VR46 MasterCamp Team Kalex +8.913
12 Tony Arbolino 🇮🇹 Elf Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex +10.072
13 Barry Baltus 🇧🇪 RW-Idofoglia Racing GP Kalex +10.707
14 Senna Agius 🇦🇺 Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP Kalex +16.739
15 Darryn Binder 🇿🇦 Italtrans Racing Team Kalex +17.945
16 Bo Bendsneyder 🇳🇱 Pertamina Mandalika GasUp Team Kalex +18.071
17 Dennis Foggia 🇮🇹 Italtrans Racing Team Kalex +21.666
18 Diogo Moreira 🇧🇷 Italtrans Racing Team Kalex +21.891
19 Zonta van den Goorbergh 🇳🇱 RW-Idofoglia Racing GP Kalex +23.387
20 Deniz Oncu 🇹🇷 Red Bull KTM Ajo Kalex +26.523
21 Jaume Masia 🇪🇦 Pertamina Mandalika GasUp Team Kalex +33.994
22 Izan Guevara 🇪🇦 CFMoto Aspar Team Kalex +41.234
23 Mario Aji 🇮🇩 Idemitsu Honda Team Asia Kalex +41.336
24 Alex Escrig 🇪🇦 KLINT Forward Factory Team Forward +55.477
25 Alonso Lopez 🇪🇦 Beta SpeedUp Boscoscuro +1 Lap
26 Ayumu Sasaki 🇯🇵 Yamaha VR46 MasterCamp Team Kalex
27 Xavi Cardelus 🇦🇩 Fantic Racing Kalex
W Jake Dixon 🇬🇧 CFMoto Aspar Team Kalex
W Xavier Artigas 🇪🇦 KLINT Forward Factory Team Forward
W Filip Salac 🇨🇿 Elf Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex